Awaken, My Love! album will come with its own VR headset

If you head to the record store to pick up Donald “Childish Gambino” Glover’s Awaken, My Love! album when it arrives on May 19th, you’ll find a nice little surprise accompanying the vinyl record.

The album will come with its own cardboard VR headset and an app that gives access to live performances recorded in 360-degree video from Glover’s “PHAROS Experience” show.

The package won’t come cheap though. You’ll get twin 45 RPM LPs, glow-in-the-dark cover art and other little treats for a cool $60 depending on where you buy it.

The Box set includes:
-Exclusive booklet
-2x heavyweight 45 RPM LPs
-Virtual Reality headset
-Glow in the dark cover
-Instructions to access exclusive virtual reality live performances from the PHAROS Experience.
-PHAROS VR companion app can be downloaded at

The album’s production is majestic, aiming squarely for the cosmos depicted on its striking cover artwork. Like the cosmic soul it emulates, the atmosphere is lush, full of period ambiance worthy of a high-end television set. The album’s first track and lead single, “Me and Your Mama,” is a satisfying slow burn that shows off Glover’s impressive falsetto. Its imagery (“This is the end of us/Sleeping with the moon and the stars”) might be vapid, but the intensity of Glover’s singing compensates, as does the ripping electric guitar.

1. Me and Your Mama
2. Have Some Love
3. Boogieman
4. Zombies
5. Riot
6. Redbone
7. California
8. Terrified
9. Baby Boy
10. The Night Me and Your Mama Met
11. Stand Tall

When the world seemingly prefers virtual media from streaming partners, it’s great to see modern technology being used to revitalize an old favorite like vinyl records. Of course you can see get a digital copy accompanying your purchase or forgo the vinyl altogether and stick to your usual mp3 provider, but having a cardboard VR bundled to access exclusive content is a very nice touch.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

VR Source
Compare items
  • Total (0)